Tarot vs Food – The Devil vs Caipirinhas

TAROT VS FOOD – SERIES!

I love food and I love Tarot! So I thought: why not make a series comparing the Major Arcana cards to food /food experience?

So each week I’ll publish a post featuring one Major Arcana card and a type of food or dish that I love!

This week,  I present to you:


CHAPTER 15 -THE DEVIL VERSUS CAIPIRINHAS

Greetings Tarot junkies

IMG_0569

The Housewives Tarot

This week it’s all about the Devil card and our sins. The type of sin that we long for, that we desire, that consumes us with passion, lust and ambition. The sin that makes us want more and more until we feel miserable. When I see this card in a reading I often think about all the things that we do to sabotage ourselves, rather it is a negative defeating thought, or eating too much chocolate and ruining your diet, or in my case: the third glass of a Caipirinha. 

Caipirinha is a Brazilian drink that I love. It is made of Cachaça, a sugar -cane based alcohol (40%) very similar to Rhum (but not exactly the same), with crushed lime, sugar and ice cubes. You can also do it with other fruits: strawberries, kiwis, passion fruit and my personal favorite cashews apples (a fruit original from Brazil). 

The problem with caipirinha is that once I have the first glass I normally end up having three. It’s so sweet and fresh, you can barely taste the alcohol and that is the whole problem. It’s like drinking this sweet juice that hits you hard and knocks you down. Next morning comes the terrible headaches and the guilt. And there it is: my morning breakfast with major arcana card the Devil. 

I believe that one of the reasons we call this card the  Devil is because deep down we know it is bad for us, but instead of listening to our guts, we dismiss our intelligence and we indulge in something that is fundamentally going to keep us trapped. The good news is we can always break free from it since we were the ones who got ourselves chained to whatever bad habit we have in the first place.

But the Devil card isn’t always so gloomy. I like to think that there is also a positive side to it. Sometime we just need to indulge in whatever it is that we know isn’t good for us. If you are on a diet you might want to devour a whole cake and sometimes you should be allowed to do so. Same goes for drinking caipirinhas. So what if you want to have three caipirinhas knowing that the next morning my head is going to feel like exploding? As long as you do it in a conscious way, not allowing yourself to be blindly trapped by an addiction, or a self-sabotaging mechanism that really doesn’t help you move forward, I don’t think a few “sins” here and there are so bad. They can be quite nice from time to time.

By the way, I’m going to start mixing my caipirinha right away!

Saúde! (Cheers!)

 

Much ❤

signature_kh5xhyr554imupeois

 

One thought on “Tarot vs Food – The Devil vs Caipirinhas

Leave a Reply

