Tarot vs Food – Justice vs French Macarons

TAROT VS FOOD – SERIES!

I love food and I love Tarot! So I thought: why not make a series comparing the major arcana cards to food /food experience?

So each week I’ll publish a post featuring one Major Arcana card and a type of food or dish that I love!

This week,  I present to you:


CHAPTER 11 – Justice VERSUS french macarons

Ok, I have to say this, I’m super excited to write this post because I just looooove macarons! They are probably one of the few “pastries” in the French cuisine that I would never, ever, ever, ever get tired of. I can eat a whole box of 12 by myself! Pistachio, chocolate, passion fruit, raspberry, caramel, vanilla, orange, lemon, blueberry, you name it!! I would eat them all!!

Vancouver back in 2011.

Vancouver back in 2011.

When I lived in Vancouver, I remember skipping class (I was studying film production) because a French pastry shop was celebrating macaron day. I spent the whole afternoon sitting there drinking coffee and eating a whole box by myself. I’m so crazy about them that the first gift I got from my sister-in-law was a macaron cook book.

The reason why I chose macarons to compare to Justice is because making macarons is a bitch! They are merciless. If you f*ck up one little tiny thing the whole recipe gets ruined, they end up looking like shit and you have to throw your whole batch of raspberry filling in the trash, which is heart-breaking (needless to say) because obviously you had bought fresh raspberries for this purpose only and they don’t come cheap.

IMG_0322Justice is like that, she is fair. You do well, you work hard and pay attention to the proportions of ingredients and temperature in the oven, your macarons may resemble like the real ones. However, if you get distracted for a second, your macarons end up like mine… 

I often see Justice as the third law of Newton: for every action there is an equal an opposite reaction. Everything we do has consequences, and when faced with Justice we have to collect our share of them. Seems gloomy that we’d be faced with just collecting our wrong deeds (cuz the good deeds are always welcomed… we are never scared of those), and Justice often shows up to me when the querent is struggling to decide if what he’s collecting is good or bad, or when trying to accept if a decision was fair or not to him/her… Luckily, in the realm of Justice and its sharp sword and balance, we always have a choice…

My ugly macarons

My ugly macarons

Let’s go back to my failed attempt to reproduce the amazing French macarons. Yes, it didn’t look amazing, of course the taste was not the best in the world, it was ok. I could have thrown them all in the garbage and cried my failure… But I didn’t, I took them as they were, I ate them all and I enjoyed it, I had learned a lesson, even though they were not the best, they were MY macarons.  From that day on I’ve learned that I will never again try to make macarons. Now that we live in France, it is just so much easier to go to the store next door… It’s like the little sentence everyone seems to be repeating these days: if life gives you lemons, make lemonade, or how I’d say it:  give it to someone who actually knows how to make a good lemonade add a splash of vodka and enjoy! 😀

Have a lovely weekend everyone!

Much ❤

signature_kh5xhyr554imupeois

2 thoughts on “Tarot vs Food – Justice vs French Macarons

Leave a Reply

