Tarot vs Food – The Wheel of Fortune vs Leftovers

TAROT VS FOOD – SERIES!

I love food and I love Tarot! So I thought: why not make a series comparing the major arcana cards to food /food experience?

So each week I’ll publish a post featuring one Major Arcana card and a type of food or dish that I love!

This week,  I present to you:


CHAPTER 10 – the wheel of fortune VERSUS leftovers

This week in my quest to compare the major arcana cards to food I’ve decided to compare the Wheel of Fortune to leftovers. Some people often think of this card as a sign of change, new events, and sometimes even fate (to those who believe in a pre determined destiny), but what screams at me when I see the Wheel of Fortune is adaptation.

IMG_0323Regardless of the changes that happen in our lives, we often undergo through a period of adapting to the new circumstances and to me that is the key point when it comes to the Wheel of Fortune. We can chose to adapt graciously, to face the novelty from a centred and grounded perspective or let ourselves dive into chaos, spinning around like an infuriated carousel.

So why leftovers? Because the changes brought by the Wheel, in my opinion, are not extremely drastic like I can see sometimes with the Tower or the Fool. These changes have a taste of déjà vu, or at least, the ingredients that would cause it to occur are already there, even though we can’t see them.

This becomes even more true, if like me, you believe in free-will and consequences due to actions rather than fate. And leftovers are pretty much like that. You’ve seen it before, the ingredients are the same, however they taste a bit different… Sometimes better, sometimes worse. It all depends on how you adapt it.

Can you see where I’m going with this? Just like the Wheel of Fortune, leftovers can a be an amazing surprise or a terrible one. For instance, Jamie Oliver, one of my favorite chefs (yes I know, I’ve said it a million times), has an amazing book that focuses on re-using leftovers of main courses to make new amazing recipes for the following day*. Oliver has understood how to stay in the center of the wheel and adapt his recipes to create new ones. Much better than what I usually do: I just throw the leftovers in the microwave and have a pitiful dinner that tastes like yesterday.

So remember this, when confronted with the Wheel, take a deep breath and use your brain and your heart to turn the rests of that meatless chicken into an incredible chicken quesadilla!

*Save with Jamie – Jamie Oliver (13 delicious recipes on his website).

Have a great weekend everyone

Much ❤

signature_kh5xhyr554imupeois

2 thoughts on “Tarot vs Food – The Wheel of Fortune vs Leftovers

Leave a Reply

