Tarot vs Food – Hermit vs Crustacean Shellfish

Tarot vs food – series!

I love food and I love Tarot! So I thought: why not make a series comparing the major arcana cards to food /food experience?

So each week I’ll publish a post featuring one Major Arcana card and a type of food or dish that I love!

This week,  I present to you:


CHAPTER 9 – HERMIT versus crustacean shellfish

After much deliberation and a lovely tip from Jack, from Jack of Wands Tarot I finally  got unstuck with my comparison of the Hermit card versus food.

IMG_0321As  you may know, a week ago I wrote a post on how I needed help to compare the Hermit. It is probably one of my favorite cards and I find it a very personal card because it invites us to go on a journey of self-reflection, self-discovery, self-development. All of these are unique to each individual. With that in mind I was struggling to find a type of food or dish that I could  compare this card to.

Jack (from Jack of Wands) gave the idea of comparing it to soft-shell crab, because “the idea of having to work hard (and go within) in order to get to your goal are fundamental… ” and I couldn’t agree more. (Thank you so much Jack for sharing your thoughts on the subject!)

So I’ve decided to expand this idea a bit further to crustacean shellfish such as crabs, lobsters, etc. Why? Because first of all not everyone agrees on the linking and disliking of them, so it’s quite personal in that sense. For instance I love lobster, but I don’t eat all parts of it, I love crabs and shrimps pretty much all crustaceans. My partner hates anything with a shell, but he recently took a liking into eating crabs, go figure…

But what I like the most about crustacean shellfish is the fact that it is not an easy task to fish them nor to cook them. Fishing for crustacean shellfish is an art on itself, if you fish it in the ocean rather than shellfish “farms” made by men. And it’s also  really hard to cook it to perfection – and you can’t have a soft heart when putting a live animal into a boiling water pan, (even if its already half dead or unconscious…) I mean, I always have tears in my eyes when I think of that. It’s a bit cruel I agree, but so is the Hermit in some ways.

There is no way you can go into the realm o the Hermit without pealing off a big part of yourself. What I mean by that is that if you truly want to find answers you have to take the mask off, you have to let go of control and of the approval of loved ones, because this road is a lonely one, it is a road you take by yourself for yourself.

When eating crustaceans, you have to hit, break, twist and dig inside to get to the meat. It’s hard work and it usually takes  a long time to eat your share. You have to be focused in your task of searching for food. There will be no feeling of accomplishment if you ask the person sitting next to you to do that work for you.  

I feel like eating crustacean shellfish is very much like the Hermit: it demands that you deliver yourself completely to the quest.

The key is to allow yourself to let go and be surprised with what you’ll find in the depths of the shell or your inner-self. 

Have a great weekend!

Much ❤

signature_kh5xhyr554imupeois

4 thoughts on “Tarot vs Food – Hermit vs Crustacean Shellfish

Leave a Reply

