Tarot vs Food – Strength vs Croissants

Tarot vs food – series!

I love food and I love Tarot! So I thought: why not make a series comparing the major arcana cards to food /food experience?

So each week I’ll publish a post featuring one Major Arcana card and a type of food or dish that I love!

This week,  I present to you:


CHAPTER 8 – Strength versus croissants

croissantI LOVE croissants! I really do! I love waking up to the smell of fresh croissants out from the oven!Add some coffee and orange juice and there I have my perfect breakfast! I thought that moving to France would make me eat croissants everyday! It was definitely something to look forward to, but it didn’t happen, (*phew) I’ve been able to keep a healthy diet. There is sooooo much butter in the making of a croissant, it’s actually a good thing I only eat it occasionally… Bad history of cholesterol in my family…

Anyways, enough of my own bla bla…

I remember the first time I saw my mom baking croissants from scratch. And that image has stuck with me since then. I was probably around 9 or 10 years old and I remember all the effort she put in it. It was summer and it was quite hot in the tropics, so she was literally sweating  to get them done. That’s why I’ve decided to compare Strength to Croissants.

IMG_0105There is just so much work into making the dough, folding, spreading, refolding, hitting, folding again, spreading, cutting, rolling… Just seeing my lovely mother at it made me tired. But I think I’ve kept this in mind as an image of perseverance and fortitude.

These two words really sum up the way I feel about the Strength card. Of course I could talk about actual physical strength, but to me is more about mental strength, power struggle,  resistance. 

When making a croissant you can’t quit! You have to go all the way even if you get tired you have to keep going. It’s going to be tough… it’s going to be long, you are gonna think about quitting, but you don’t. That my friends is Strength! Even in the face of difficulties, you find that sparkle inside of you to stay strong and keep going! You fight your mental pessimism and you keep going. You persevere, you dominate your ego that tells you that your croissants look like sh**. 

I have never actually tried to make them, but when I eat one I always think about the hard work and resistance the boulanger put into it. I can taste it and when I eat one I feel ready to conquer the world… Or at least, my inner world… 

Have a great weekend!


I’m really trying to get better at this social media thing… It’s almost a full time job! It’s tough keeping up with it and having an actual full time job. So there it is… Maybe I should incorporate the Strengths energy to keep going! ha!

Check out my tumblr!

 

2 thoughts on “Tarot vs Food – Strength vs Croissants

Leave a Reply

