Tarot vs Food – The Hierophant vs Chocolate Cake

Tarot vs food – series!

I love food and I love Tarot! So I thought: why not make a series comparing the major arcana cards to food /food experience?

So each week I’ll publish a post featuring one Major Arcana card and a type of food or dish that I love!

This week,  I present to you:


CHAPTER 5 – The Hierophant versus chocolate cake

Oh wow! What a crazy month! Sorry I haven’t been able to post anything for the past week! I’ve had the amazing visit of family members! It was a lot of rushing around, site seeing and fun! So I apologise for the lack of news around here.

Now that that’s out of my chest, this week I want to talk about the Hierophant and Chocolate Cake. Whenever I take this card on a reading I think about society, what’s expected of me, what is tradition and social conventions. I also think about questioning these traditions and really going within to find the answers that fit my own life. Maybe I need to create new traditions, or maybe the traditions I’ve been following are not so bad. It’s always a great time to re-think some of the beliefs systems I have.

IMG_0102 Anyways, the reason why I chose chocolate cake is because there is nothing more traditional to me than chocolate cake. It works for several occasions like birthdays, weddings, parties or just a simple dessert to top your store bought dinner. I believe a lot of people have a “go to” chocolate cake recipe, I sure do, and I tend to be a bit reluctant when we see a new recipe. Not because they don’t look delicious, but sometimes they just seem complicated and too much work.

In the realm of the Hierophant we are faced with the fact that sometimes we can’t change conventions, and we can’t create a new tradition and be all smart and inventive. Sometimes, we just need to follow the rules.

If I showed up to my non-vegan friend’s birthday party bringing a gluten-free vegan chocolate cake (nothing against that, I actually really like it) now that they’ve gotten used to my very gourmet chocolate mousse strawberry cake with a chocolate ganache icing they would most likely be surprised or reluctant to eat it. 

So when you have a go to recipe for chocolate cake why would you change it? Sometimes, you might actually change it, because you are questioning your belief that this recipe is the best recipe. That can happen, of course. We all mature and evolve, that’s why we are here: to try and keep on trying every day. Other times, you might just say “meh… I’ll just go with the recipe I know, it’s safe and good”.

The Hierophant also makes me think about a quest for knowledge and guess what? When it comes to changing your traditional recipe, you don’t just wing it! You research! You look for good solid cooking books, or chefs, or blogs that you trust! You don’t try the first new recipe you stumble across, you go to the ones that are the best of the best! When you want knowledge you look for the best sources! Wikipedia is not going to give you a master degree, but an university might. See where I’m going with this?

2014-08-03 22.16.36

Two layer chocolate raspberry cake! Yumm!

So just like your traditional Chocolate Cake recipe, the Hierophant is all about what’s safe and what we are used to. It can be in relation to ourselves or even to our entourage, to our belief systems, to studying, to social conventions. You don’t just change the recipe of your cake out of the blue, the same way  you usually don’t get married or a PhD without telling anyone (you can, but that’s not really socially accepted).  And when you do do change the cake, you usually tell people that they are going to try a new recipe before they attack it.  Unless you want to have fun and test your friends and family and see if they notice a difference. You could do that… That’s actually fun.


 

Now over to you! What is your go to dessert? Do you also have a Chocolate Cake recipe that you always use? How do you feel when you get the Hierophant on a reading? i’d love to know what you think!


Surfing over the wordpress community I fell in love with this recipe on Cooking Without Limits. I’m dying to try it out as a  healthy replacement to the chocolate mousse I use for my own Traditional Chocolate Cake. Raw Chocolate Pudding, check it out! 😉

 

2 thoughts on “Tarot vs Food – The Hierophant vs Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

